SoHi Volleyball Ends Season at NLC Tournament


Staff report

The Soldotna volleyball team ended its season with a 3-1 loss to Wasilla on Friday in the Northern Lights Conference tournament at Palmer High School.

Wasilla, the No. 4 seed in the tournament, beat the Stars, the No. 5 seed, 25-18, 16-25, 25-21 and 25-23. The game moves the Warriors to the Class 4A State Tournament.

“I feel like we won tonight anyway,” Soldotna coach Luke Baumer said. “The way these girls played was all we coaches wanted to see. We knew they had that in them.

“Everyone – the players, the parents – is happy with the way we played, but sad that we didn’t win. It was the best game we played all season.”

For the first time this season, Baumer said every batter had more kills than offensive errors.

Soldotna swept Wasilla in the first round on Thursday, but Baumer said the Warriors played a great game on Friday. He said the Stars were able to contain the damage from the middle and outside hitters, but Wasilla’s opposite hitter got up and took advantage.

Chloe Armstrong had 13 kills for the Stars, while Katelyn Morrison had 12 kills, 22 digs and three aces. Emma Brantley had 25 assists, Aleena Zener had 23 digs, Jolie Widaman had three aces, Regan Hunt had three blocks and Adarra Hagelund had two blocks.

Baumer said the team graduated six seniors and they will be missed. The coach said it meant a lot to his team that the gym was cheering on SoHi in Friday’s game.

“It’s a huge step in the right direction for SoHi,” he said. “We want to be a team that really is a good sport no matter what. We have been good sportsmen all season and it showed in the game in this region.

Northern Lights All Conference Volleyball Awards

MVP — Abby Gooch, Colony.

Coach of the Year — Amy Willis, Kodiak.

First Team – Kristen Carstens, Kodiak; Jenna Whisenhurt, Palmer; Vanessa Schachle, Wasilla; Liyah Pilgrim, Colony; Aleena Zener, Soldotna; Bella Hays, Wasilla; Britney Llorente, Kodiak; Riley Thompson, Palmer; Alyvia Davis, colony.

Honorable Mention — Taylee Weiss, Colony; Brynly Crossley, Palmer; Adarra Hagelund, Soldotna; Rylee Pitney, Wasilla; Elan Hilly, Kodiak; Jiselle Blanco, Kodiak; Chloe Armstrong, Soldotna; Katelyn Morrison, Soldotna; Katy Meaney, Palmer; Emmy Brantley, Soldtona; Jordyn Harris, Wasilla.


About Author

Comments are closed.