Bella Belen builds case for UAAP volleyball rookie-MVP


EYA Laure remained the top scorer as National University forwards dotted the top players at the end of the playoff phase of the UAAP Season 84 Women’s Volleyball Tournament.

Laure, the University of Santo Tomas star, marked her class on the court by compiling 272 points on 244 spikes, 17 blocks and 11 service aces as she steered the Tigresses to the No. 3 seed.

Ateneo forward Faith Nisperos was a close second with her 267 points on 228 kills, 16 blocks and 23 aces, followed by NU’s Bella Belen third with 203, University of the Philippines’ Alyssa Bertolano fourth with 197 points and La Salle. Leiah Malaluan fifth with 193 points.

Adamson’s Trisha Genesis (184 points), Ateneo’s Vanie Gandler (174 points), NU’s Alyssa Solomon (171 points), Eastern University’s Ja Lana (170 points) and NU’s Cess completed the 10 top scorers in 14 games this season Robles (162 points).

Continue reading below ↓

Unsurprisingly, the forwards of undefeated top seed Lady Bulldogs also dominated in the various skill departments.

Belen built his case for MVP and Rookie of the Year after being in the Top 10 in five out of seven skill departments.

Continue reading below ↓

Recommended Videos

Not only did she finish third among the top scorers, but the 19-year-old open striker also topped the race for top servers with her average of 0.47 per set, ranked second in the list of top forwards with his 38.96 percent hit rate, No. 6 among top receivers with his 40.85 percent hit rate, and No. 8 among top diggers with an average of 2.38 per set.

Continue reading below ↓

Ateneo’s Nisperos (0.43), NU peers Solomon (0.34) and Sheena Toring (0.32) and UP’s Bertolano (0.31) stormed Belen for the award for best servers in the season.

Solomon topped the list of top strikers with her success rate of 38.98%, followed by Lady Bulldogs teammates Belen and Robles (37.57%), Bertolano (35.27%) and Nisperos (34, 86%).


Lams Lamina was also the top setter at the end of eliminations with her average of an excellent 5.81 sets per set, followed by Louie Romero of Adamson (4.70 sets), Marrione Alba of La Salle (4.60 sets), Ateneo’s Janel Maraguinot (4.49 sets) and UP’s Marianne Sotomil (3.80 sets).

The NU honor roll is completed by Jennifer Nierva who was the best receiver with her efficiency rate of 55.96%. She is pursued by Janel Delerio from UST (46.36%), Roma Mae Doromal from Ateneo (44.44%), Justine Jazareno from La Salle (44.13%) and Jolina dela Cruz (41.83%). ).

La Salle, no. 2 seeds at the end of the eliminations, also drew attention to the performance of their players throughout the eliminations.

Continue reading below ↓

Thea Gagate was the top blocker averaging 0.60 kill blocks per set over 14 matches. She was followed by AC Miner of Ateneo with 0.53 blocks, Fifi Sharma of La Salle and KC Galdones of UST with 0.50 blocks each, and Joan Narit of Ateneo with his average of 0.49 blocks.

Jazareno narrowly edged out Nierva for the best digger tag, with the Lady Spiker libero landing 4.78 excellent digs on average against her Lady Bulldogs counterpart who had 4.40. Alexandra Juangco of Far Eastern University was third with her 4.00, Bernadett Pepito of UST is a distant fourth with her 2.96 and Jenina Zeta of EU completed the top five with her 2.70 .

We are now on Quento! to enjoy more articles and videos from and other Summit Media websites.


About Author

Comments are closed.